HOUGHTON COUNTY APPORTIONMENT COMMITTEE 2021 SPECIAL MEETING OCTOBER 7, 2021

The Houghton County Apportionment Committee held a Special Apportionment Committee meeting on Thursday, October 7, 2021, in the 5th Floor Conference room of the Courthouse, City of Houghton.

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Chairman, Lisa Mattila, at 4:05 p.m.

Roll call:

The following Committee members responded to roll call done by Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk:

Brittany Bulleit-Prosecuting Attorney, Jennifer Kelly-County Clerk, Lisa Mattila-County Treasurer, William Keith-Chair of Democratic Party, and Dan Holcomb-Chair of the Republican Party.

Approval of Agenda:

A Motion was made by Brittany Bulleit, and seconded by William Keith to approve the Agenda with the additions.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 5, Nays 0.

Approval of Minutes:

A Motion was made by Brittany Bulleit, and seconded by Dan Holcomb to approve the September 29, 2021 minutes as presented.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 5, Nays 0.

Public Comments:

Mary Sears stated she encourages the Committee to use the 5 Commissioner map, and the Townships in Houghton County supported Lisa Mattila's 5 Commissioner map.

John Haeussler did not like either of the party chairman's plans, and requested the Committee to not consider either of their party plans.

John Haeussler stated his 6 Commissioner plan had the least number of violations of the laws that the Committee must follow. John said he endorses Lisa Mattila's plan as it is most sensible.

Erik Kiilunen said he supports Lisa Mattila's plan. Lisa provided Erik with a copy of the September 29, 2021 minutes that he requested.

New Business:

Correspondence:

Lisa Mattila read emails that she received from the following people: Chris Heikknen, Carol Ketola, John Haworth, David Halonen, Karen & Tim Timmonen, Alexandra Ziemba, and Lisa Halonen.

Jennifer Kelly read emails that she received from the following people:

Gail Voldarski, Valorie Troesch, Janine Kiilunen, Judy Chizek, Marty Rajala, Michael Pionke, Matt Hyrkas, and Naomi Leukuma.

Final Map Decision:

Lisa Mattila loaded the official Census data from the USB Jennifer Kelly received from the State.

The Committee looked and verified the numbers matched the previous numbers that were used by the Committee for the CCD Tool.

Brittany Bulleit stated she has concerns about our plan being appealed due to Quincy Township not being contiguous.

A Motion was made by William Keith, and seconded by Brittany Bulleit to adopt the 5 Commissioner District plan created by Lisa Mattila.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 5, Nays 0.

Public Comments:

Mary Sears thanked the Committee. John Haeussler thanked the Committee.

Adjournment:

A Motion was made by Brittany Bulleit and seconded by William Keith to adjourn the meeting at 5:35 pm.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 5, Nays 0.

Lisa Mattila, Chairman

Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk