HOUGHTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING APRIL 29, 2022

The Houghton County Board of Commissioners held a Special meeting on Friday, April 29, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. in the 5th Floor Conference Room of the Courthouse, City of Houghton with the public in person and by Zoom.

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairman Tom Tikkanen at 10:00 a.m.

Vice-Chairman Tikkanen asked everyone to have a moment of silence for Albert Koskela.

Pledge of Allegiance:

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Vice-Chairman Tikkanen.

Roll call:

The following Commissioners responded to roll call done by the County Clerk, Jennifer Kelly:

Tom Tikkanen, District 1; Gretchen Janssen, District 4; Roy Britz, District 5. Absent: Glenn Anderson, District 3.

Approval of Agenda/Additions:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Janssen, seconded by Commissioner Britz to approve the Agenda as presented.

The Motion carried by a voice vote: Ayes 3, Nays 0.

Election:

1. Chairperson

Vice-Chairman Tikkanen turned the meeting over to County Clerk, Jennifer Kelly.

Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk, asked for Nominations.

Commissioner Janssen made a Motion to appoint Tom Tikkanen and Roy Britz seconded the Motion.

Jennifer Kelly asked twice more if there were any other nominations. Hearing none, the Board was asked to do a roll call vote.

The Motion carried by the following vote:

YES: Janssen, Britz, Tikkanen 3.

NO: None 0.

ABSENT: Anderson 1.

Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk, turned the meeting over to Chairman Tikkanen.

2. Vice Chairperson

Chairman Tikkanen asked for Nominations for Vice-Chairman.

Commissioner Janssen made a Motion to appoint Roy Britz and Chairman Tikkanen seconded the Motion.

Chairman Tikkanen asked twice more if there were any other nominations. Hearing none, the Board was asked to do a roll call vote.

The Motion carried by the following vote:

YES: Janssen, Tikkanen, Britz 3.

NO: None 0.

ABSENT: Anderson 1.

Public Comments-Agenda Items only *(5 minute limit):

None.

Correspondence:

None.

Old Business:

None.

New Business:

1. District #2 Commissioners Seat

The Board had discussion on the procedure for accepting letters and applications for the District #2 Commissioner seat. The Board discussed accepting letters and applications until May 9, 2022, and then discuss the applicants at the May 10, 2022 board meeting. A block ad will need to be run in the Daily Mining Gazette. The ad will also be displayed on the County website. The applications can be found under the employment tab.

District #2 covers the townships of Franklin, Osceola, Torch Lake and Schoolcraft.

Anyone interested in the District #2 Commissioner seat should submit their applications and letters of interest to the Controller's Office by May 9, 2022.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Janssen, seconded by Commissioner Britz to place an ad in the Daily Mining Gazette, and display the ad on the County website for the District #2 Commissioner seat which will be effective from May 10, 2022 until December 31, 2022.

The Motion carried by the following vote:

YES: Janssen, Britz, Tikkanen 5.

NO: None 0.

ABSENT: Anderson 1.

Public Comments: *(5 minute limit)

None.

Announcements:

None.

Adjournment:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Janssen and seconded by Commissioner Britz to adjourn at 10:15 am.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 3, Nays 0.	
Tom Tikkanen, Chairman	Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk