HOUGHTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING MAY 16, 2022

The Houghton County Board of Commissioners held a Special meeting on Monday, May 16, 2022 at 1:00 p.m. in the 5th Floor Conference Room of the Courthouse, City of Houghton with the public in person and by Zoom.

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Tom Tikkanen at 1:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance:

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Tikkanen.

Roll call:

The following Commissioners responded to roll call done by the Deputy County Clerk, Renee Cunningham:

Tom Tikkanen, District 1; Glenn Anderson, District 3 (arrived at 1:02 pm), Gretchen Janssen, District 4; Roy Britz, District 5.

Approval of Agenda/Additions:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Janssen, seconded by Commissioner Britz to approve the Agenda as presented.

The Motion carried by a voice vote: Ayes 4, Nays 0.

E. Public Comments-Agenda Items only *(5 minute limit):

Kevin Codere addressed the Board via zoom. Kevin gave a background information about himself. He has served on various public and private boards. He has no intentions on running for the District 2 seat.

Glenn Schuldt addressed the Board via zoom.

F. Correspondence:

Glenn Anderson stated that there are a total of eight (8) candidates applying for the District 2 seat. The number was seven (7), but there was an email from Hans Impala to the Clerk that was not read until after the prior Board meeting.

G. Old Business:

1. District #2 Unexpired Commissioners Seat

Glenn Anderson stated he still had questions on filling the vacant Commissioners seat.

Elizabeth Bjorn (Administrator) spoke with legal counsel and the Michigan Association of Counties and learned that the vacant seat must be filled within 30 days.

Glenn Anderson questioned if there should be a special election since we are past the August 2022 Primary deadline.

Elizabeth Bjorn let the Board know that she would seek more advice once someone is picked to fill the Commissioner seat. The new Commissioner needs to be sworn in by May 24th, 2022.

Commissioner Anderson made a Motion to un-table the Commissioner District 2 appointment Commissioner Janssen seconded the Motion.

The Motion carried by the following vote:

YES: Anderson, Janssen, Britz, Tikkanen 4.

NO: None 0.

H. New Business

1. District #2 Unexpired Commissioners Seat

Chairman Tikkanen asked Administrator Bjorn to read the list of applicants.

Elizabeth Bjorn read the applicants names as follows: Lou Ambuehl, Kevin Codere, Eric Forsberg, Joel Keranen, Hans Impala, Richard Nye, Timothy Sears and Glen Schuldt.

Chairman Tikkanen nominated Joel Keranen and gave information on Joel Keranen's qualifications. No support.

The Motion died for lack of support.

Commissioner Britz nominated Eric Forsberg and seconded by Commissioner Anderson.

Commissioner Anderson did not find it appropriate to choose a candidate who will be on the August ballot.

Chairman Tikkanen discussed an email from a District 2 voter asking that Eric Forsberg not be appointed due to his working for Houghton County.

The Motion failed by the following vote:

YES: Anderson, Britz 2. NO: Janssen, Tikkanen 2.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Janssen to appoint Kevin Codere and seconded by Commissioner Anderson.

The Motion carried by the following vote:

YES: Janssen, Anderson, Britz 3.

NO: Tikkanen 1.

2. UPCAP Unexpired Board Seat term expires 12/31/22

Commissioner Koskela held the UPCAP position. Chairman Tikkanen stated he would be willing to take this on to complete the term.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Britz for to appoint Chairman Tikkanen to fill the UPCAP Board seat until the term expires on 12/31/22.

The Motion carried by a voice vote: Ayes 4, Nays 0.

Public Comments: *(5 minute limit)
Lou Ambuehl stated Kevin Codere will represent District 2 very well.
None.
Announcements:
None.
Adjournment:
A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Jansset to adjourn at 1:27 pm.
The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 4, Nays 0.
Tom Tikkanen, Chairman Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk