HOUGHTON COUNTY BOARD OF CANVASSERS MEETING MAY 7, 2025

The Houghton County Board of Canvassers held a meeting on Wednesday, May 7, 2025 at 9:00 am at the Franklin Township Office in Hancock, Michigan. The meeting was held to approve the May 6, 2025 Special Election results.

The Canvassers completed their per diems, and reviewed the minutes from the November 2024 Canvassing.

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chairman, Barbara Manninen at 9:01 am. The following responded to roll call to the County Clerk, Jennifer Kelly: Barbara Manninen, Democrat; Charles Markham, Republican and Valorie Troesch, Democrat; and Sharon Foix, Republican.

Also in attendance was Renee Cunningham, Deputy County Clerk.

No public was in attendance.

Pledge of Allegiance:

The Canvassers did the Pledge of Allegiance.

Agenda:

A Motion was made by Valorie Troesch and seconded by Sharon Foix to approve the Agenda as presented.

The Motion carried by the following vote: Ayes 4, Nays 0.

Approve Minutes from last Canvassing-November 2024:

A Motion was made by Sharon Foix, seconded by Valorie Troesch to approve the November 2024 minutes as presented.

The Motion carried by the following vote: Ayes 4, Nays 0.

Public Comments:

No comments were made.

Review all election envelopes, tapes, and all documentation in every Houghton County Precinct for the May 2025 election:

Calumet Township-Precinct 2:

The Canvassers reviewed the voting totals and Clerk Kelly advised the Board that none of the seven (7) registered voters voted in the May 2025 election.

A Motion was made by Charles Markham, seconded by Valorie Troesch to approve Calumet Township Precinct 2.

The Motion carried by the following vote: Ayes 4, Nays 0.

Schoolcraft Township:

The Canvassers reviewed the voting totals.

The Board stated the Democrat and Republican signatures were missing on the Statement of Votes Cast certifying the ballot container was sealed. Clerk Kelly called the Township Clerk at 9:20 am and requested the 2 people come to the Canvassing within one (1) hour to sign the documents.

Sherman Township (Keweenaw County):

The Canvassers reviewed the voting totals. The Canvassers wanted it documented that the voter list and Ballot Summary were not in the Pollbook. They were loose in the envelope.

A Motion was made by Charles Markham, seconded by Valorie Troesch, to approve Sherman Township.

The Motion carried by the following vote: Ayes 4, Nays 0.

Torch Lake Township-Precinct 1:

The Canvassers reviewed the voting totals.

The Canvassers stated the container seal number was missing on the Statement of Votes Cast form. Clerk Kelly contacted the Township Clerk and asked him to call back with the missing number.

Torch Lake Township-Precinct 2:

The Canvassers reviewed the voting totals. The Canvassers wanted it documented that the zero tape was in the County Clerk envelope. The zero tape should be in the Local Clerk's envelope. The tape was put back into the County Clerk envelope.

A Motion was made by Sharon Foix, seconded by Valorie Troesch, to approve Torch Lake Township Precinct 2.

The Motion carried by the following vote: Ayes 4, Nays 0.

Schoolcraft Township-continued:

The Democrat and Republican workers appeared at Canvassing. They signed both documents. The Canvassers sealed the Canvassers envelope.

A Motion was made by Valorie Troesch, seconded by Charles Markham, to approve Schoolcraft Township.

The Motion carried by the following vote: Ayes 4, Nays 0.

The Canvassers signed the three (3) Certificates of Determination, and the Certificate for the Statement of Votes Cast.

Torch Lake Township-Precinct 1:

The Township Clerk called and provided Clerk Kelly with the ballot seal number. The Canvassers listened on speaker phone.

A Motion was made by Valorie Troesch, seconded by Charles Markham, to approve Torch Lake Township Precinct 1.

The Motion carried by the following vote: Ayes 4, Nays 0.

Public Comments:

None.

Adjourn meeting:

A Motion was made by Valorie Troesch, seconded by Sharon Foix, to adjourn the meeting at 10:30 pm.

The Motion carried by the following vote: Ayes 4, Nays 0.

Becky Bruin-Slot

Valorie Troesch

Barbara Manninen

Sharon Foix

Jennifer Kelly Clerk of the Houghton County Canvassers