Tax Allocation Board

A County Tax Allocation Board is created for each County in Michigan and shall be composed of the following:

  • The County Treasurer.

  • The Chairperson of the Board of County Auditors if there is a board, and if not, the chairperson of the finance or ways and means committee
    of the county board of commissioners.

  • The Intermediate School District Superintendent or his or her representative.

  • A resident of a municipality within the County who shall be selected by the Judge or Judges of Probate of the County, except that in counties containing 1 or more municipal corporations having a population of 10,000 or more, the member shall be a resident of a municipal corporation having a population of 10,000 or more. However, in counties in which are located municipalities subject to this act, the member shall be an official of 1 of the municipalities and if there is only 1 municipality within the County, then the member shall be selected by the governing body of the municipality either from its own members or its municipal officers.

  • A member not officially connected with or employed by any local or county unit, who shall be selected by the Board of County Commissioners.

  • A member who shall be a Township Supervisor and who shall be selected by a majority of the Township Supervisors in the County.

The members of the Board selected by the Judge or Judges of Probate shall be selected on or before the second Monday of April in each year, and shall hold office for a term of 1 year.

The Tax Allocation Board shall select 1 of its members as chairperson.

The County Clerk shall act as the Clerk of the Tax Allocation Board, and shall keep a full and accurate record of all its proceedings.

The Tax Allocation Board may employ clerical and other assistance considered necessary.


  • Lisa Mattila

  • Tom Tikkanen

  • James Rautiola

  • Mary Babcock

  • Jay Ruohonen

  • Brian Cadwell

  • Jennifer Kelly, Board Clerk


Meeting Dates & Minutes


Regular Meeting

April 12, 2024 (Fri)


Regular Meeting

April 20, 2020 (Mon)


Regular Meeting

April 18, 2016 (Mon)