Houghton County Planning Commission

The Houghton County Planning Commission was created to provide for the coordinated and harmonious development of Houghton County. The Board consists of nine members who are appointed by the Houghton County Board of Commissioners.

Members

Allan T. Aho, Commissioner
Chassell Twp.

Term: January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2026

19940 E. Chassell-Painesdale Rd.
Chassell, MI 49916
ataho@moyleusa.com
906-523-1166

Community Interest Group:
Agriculture & Forestry, Land Use

Steve Aho, Chairman
Hancock Twp.

Term: September 13, 2023 to December 31, 2026

20068 5th St.
Hancock, MI 49930
ahosteve24@gmail.com
906-370-1050

Community Interest Group:
Economic Development & Tourism

Erik Kiilunen, Commissioner
Torch Lake Twp.

Term: January 18, 2024 to December 31st, 2026

51818 Osprey Ave.
Hubbell, MI 49934
erik@neuvokascorp.com
906-369-3355

Community Interest Group:
Local Governmental Planning and Zoning

Mark Larson, Commissioner
Portage Twp.

Term: January 18, 2024 to December 31, 2026

22622 Fox Farm Rd.
Houghton, MI 49931
mlarson4533@gmail.com
906-370-4533

Community Interest Group:
Recreation & Culture

Dr. Timothy Sears, Secretary
Franklin Twp.

Term: January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2026

53410 West Pontiac Rd.
Hancock, MI 49930
timothytoddsears@msn.com

Community Interest Group:
Sanitation, Environmental Health, Housing, and Human Services

Benjamin Larson

Term: Indefinite

County Administrator
Houghton County Courthouse
Houghton, MI 49931
administrator@houghtoncounty.net

Joel Keranen, Houghton County Commissioner
District 2: Franklin, Osceola, Schoolcraft and Torch Lake Townships

Term: January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2026

28775 Old Colony Rd.
Calumet, MI 49913
joel.keranen@houghtoncounty.net
906-370-1050

Community Interest Group:
Houghton County Board of Commisioners

John Larson, Commissioner
Calumet Twp.

Term: January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2026

56230 Bear Lake Rd.
Hancock, MI 49930
jlarson@clkschools.org
906-281-8935

Community Interest Group:
Education

Michael Erickson, Vice Chairman
Osceola Twp.

Term: September 13, 2023 to December 31, 2026

55902 N. Cloverland Rd.
Calumet, MI 49913
michael.erickson@arcadis.com
734-604-7044

Community Interest Group:
Environmental

Documents

Planning Commission Meeting Dates & Minutes