Houghton County Courthouse
401 E. Houghton Ave.
Houghton, MI 49931
Monday - Friday:
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
We are providing the following Concealed Weapon Permit information, but keep in mind, this information is not comprehensive and is only given to aid the general public in understanding the new law. Holders of CPL Permits are cautioned that they have the burden of knowing their rights and responsibilities under the act. View firearms laws of Michigan.
Holders or CCWO permits are required to remain sober when carrying a concealed weapon as required by statute on the Use of Alcohol and Controlled Substances while Carrying a Concealed Weapon.
Certain areas are gun free zones under the statute:
When stopped by a Police Officer, CCW holders must follow a defined procedure to let the officer know they are carrying a concealed weapon as required in the Disclosure of Concealed Weapons to Police Officer.
Read Firearms Laws of Michigan for more information and complete the following steps:
Complete the CPL Training Class. See list of instructors.
Complete an application and bring it to the Houghton County Clerk's Office along with the CPL Training Certificate and $100 payable to the Houghton County Clerk. We do accept all forms of payments.
Fingerprinting is required for new applicants and are processed at the Houghton County Sheriff Department. The fee is $15.00. Hours for fingerprinting: Tuesdays and Thursdays. And Mondays, Wednesdays or Fridays after 4:30 pm.
For further information, please contact the Houghton County Clerk's Office at 906-482-1150.